Basilan Shooters sign up as MPBL’s 25th member

ByAllan Lim

MPBL Photo

Basilan, an island province in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, has formally signed up as the 5th team from the Visayas/Mindanao area and 25th overall in time for the second conference of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL).

League officials led by assistant commissioner Satar Macantal and operations head Zaldy Realubit were present during the contract signing with team manager Ashrafh Abdullah representing the new squad which will known as the Shooters.

Team owner Hejem Furigay attended the meeting between league and team representatives held last Wednesday at the Raffles Hotel in Makati City.

Joseph Romarante will serve as the Shooters’ head coach.

Along with Basilan, other teams from the South are Davao Occidental, General Santos, Zamboanga and Cebu.

Teams from Luzon are led by last conference’s finalists Batangas and Muntinlupa, along with pioneers Valenzuela, Paranaque, Imus, Quezon City, Bulacan, Navotas, Caloocan and Bataan.

Expansion teams Makati, Manila, San Juan, Rizal, Laguna, Mandaluyong, Pampanga, Pasig, Pasay and Marikina round up the 25 participants for the upcoming conference which is scheduled to start on June 12.


2018 Commissioner’s Cup Team Standings

The 2018 Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Commissioner's Cup, also known as the 2018 Honda–PBA Commissioner's Cup for sponsorship reasons, will be the second conference...

San Miguel acquires Kelly Nabong from GlobalPort for Gabby Espinas, future draft pick

The San Miguel Beermen have added another key piece to their already vaunted front court rotation by acquiring volatile big man Kelly Nabong from...

WATCH: Brgy. Ginebra vs Columbian Game Highlights [June 20, 2018]

After a brief battle in the early minutes, Barangay Ginebra hammered Columbian Dyip hard en route to a 134-107 victory that pushed the Gin...

Arwind Santos, Anthony Semerad, Don Trollano slapped with P20K fine each for incurring FFP2

San Miguel's Arwind Santos and the TNT duo of Anthony Semerad and Don Trollano were each slapped with a P20,000 fine by the PBA...

PBA releases partial 2018 Commissioner’s Cup elims schedule

The PBA has released through its social media accounts a partial schedule of the upcoming 2018 Commissioner's Cup signed by no less than league...

LOOK: Paolo Taha pens heartfelt gratitude to Brgy. Ginebra officials, coaches, teammates and fans

A day after being dealt to the GlobalPort Batang Pier for rookie Julian Sargent, Paolo Taha took to Instagram to express his heartfelt gratitude...