PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial admitted that the referees erred in their failure to call an out-of-bounds violation on Magnolia big man Rafi Reavis after the 40-year old Fil-Am clearly stepped on the baseline after collaring the rebound off an Alex Cabagnot missed triple.
Reavis signalled for a timeout but only after his right foot was already considered out-of-bounds.
The baseline referee immediately granted the timeout to Magnolia.
After review of the contested play by the league’s technical committee, Marcial said that the referees claimed that Reavis was able to verbally call for a timeout before going out-of-bounds, which is allowed under league rules.
Marcial added that since that verbal request for a timeout cannot be verified thru video, the referees should’ve just called a stepping violation on Reavis.
Unfortunately for San Miguel, the crucial missed call is not reviewable and as such cannot be reversed.
The league also admitted that June Mar Fajardo did commit a travelling violation during the second period of the same game but was missed by the referees.