Ronald Tubid’s hit on Chris Newsome: Intentional or accidental?

216

The debut game of Philippine Cup champion San Miguel Beermen against the erstwhile unbeaten Meralco Bolts was marred by an unfortunate incident in the opening minutes of the 4th and final period.

Meralco guard Baser Amer drove strong to the hoop but missed the shot badly. Bolts sophomore Chris Newsome and SMB veteran Ronald Tubid went up for the rebound but neither got clear possession of the ball.

The Beermen guard suddenly came up with a wild swing that hit the face of the reigning Rookie of the Year. Newsome went down for the count with a bloodied face.

The initial call was Flagrant Foul Penalty 1 which the officials later upgraded to Flagrant Foul Penalty 2 after further review.

In an interview with sportswriters after the game, the 14-year veteran out of UE insisted that it was unintentional.

“Sa akin talaga hindi ko nakita. It happened na pag-swing ko may tinamaan. Di ko maiwasan, promise. Part of the game lang yun,” said the 35-year old native of Iloilo City.

A closer look at the replay of the play revealed however that Tubid swung his right arm towards Newsome unnecessarily. It wasn’t a basketball move at all. Add to that the closed fist that came along with it.

Needless to explain, the move was not accidental. Well, at least from this writer’s point of view.

Watch the video closely and you be the judge. – Ronald Agbada