San Miguel bags 3rd straight PH Cup title, Perpetual Trophy with 91-85 Game 5 win over Brgy. Ginebra

PBA Media Bureau

The San Miguel Beermen kept its stranglehold of dominance in the All-Filipino Conference, defeating the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Kings, 91-85, to clinch a third consecutive Oppo PBA Philippine Cup championship in Game 5 of the best-of-seven series on Sunday at the SMART-Araneta Coliseum.

PBA MVP June Mar Fajardo and Arwind Santos each had 21 points to lead San Miguel while Alex Cabagnot chipped in with 18 markers.

Chris Ross, who was named Finals MVP, finished with 12 points, eight rebounds, 10 assists and six steals in the clincher.

With the win, San Miguel becomes the second PBA franchise to take home the Jun Bernardino Trophy, better known as the “Perpetual Trophy”. It is awarded to a team that wins three straight in the All-Filipino conference, something that the Talk ‘N Text franchise also did from 2011-2013. –

The scores:

San Miguel 91 – Fajardo 21, Santos 21, Cabagnot 18, Ross 12, Lassiter 12, Espinas 4, Tubid 3, De Ocampo 0.

Brgy. Ginebra 85 – Aguilar 26, Devance 20, Mercado 20, Tenorio 10, Marcelo 4, Thompson 3, Caguioa 2, Ferrer 0.

Quarterscores: 27-21, 51-41, 63-61, 91-85.