San Miguel claims 2017 Commissioner’s Cup crown with 115-91 rout of TNT in Game 6

PBA Media Bureau

San Miguel Beer came out in its Sunday best and was a team in a hurry, pulling away early en route to a 115-91 blasting of the TNT KaTropa to claim the PBA Commissioner’s Cup championship before a crowd of over 10,000 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum Sunday night.

The Beermen flattened the Ka Tropa right in the early goings on a vicious start, and played relentlessly and ruthlessly all throughout for the emphatic victory that sealed their 4-2 triumph in the best-of-seven series.

A dominant team in the last three years, San Miguel nailed a follow-up on its all-Filipino title run and thus stayed on course for a grand slam – a feat last achieved in the league in 2014 by San Mig Coffee (now Star).

San Miguel, which has had its own grand slam in 1989 behind a team led by Ramon Fernandez, Ricky Brown, Samboy Lim and Hector Calma, improved its legacy with a 24th crown, five of those won by coach Leo Austria and his troops in the last eight conferences.

Alex Cabagnot delivered the first triple-double performance by any player in a finale in the last 12 years with 19 points, 12 rebounds and 11 assists. He bagged the PBA Press Corps Cignal Finals MVP award. – PBA

The scores:

SMB 115 – Rhodes 30, Lassiter 24, Cabagnot 19, Santos 17, Ross 14, Espinas 5, Semerad 4, Fajardo 2, De Ocampo 0, Heruela 0, McCarthy 0, Van Opstal 0, Agovida 0.

TNT 91 – Rosario 21, Pogoy 16, Smith 15, Castro 13, De Ocampo 7, Garcia 7, Williams 4, Tautuaa 4, Rosales 2, Semerad 2, Reyes 0.

Quarterscores: 37-26, 62-42, 94-69, 115-91.