San Miguel finally barges into win column with 106-94 victory over Phoenix


PBA Media Bureau

San Miguel Beer struggled through the first 44 minutes of the game before coming through with a decisive run to overcome a gritty Phoenix Petroleum team, 106-94, for its first win in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup at the Smart Araneta Coliseum Wednesday night.

Still two points down at 86-88, the Beermen roared ahead at 96-88 on a 10-to-nothing attack by Renaldo Balkman, Arwind Santos and June Mar Fajardo, and held on to finally break into the win-column in four starts in the midseason tourney.

Balkman produced 35 points and 17 rebounds while Christian Standhardinger, Alex Cabagnot and Santos contributed a combined output of 44 markers off the bench as the Beermen finally nailed a win after dropping their first three games against Meralco, Rain or Shine and Alaska Milk.

The Fuel Masters dragged the Beermen to a tough battle but came up short in the end, thus, sliding down to joint sixth with the GlobalPort Batang Pier and the Columbian Dyip squad at 3-3.

The scores:

San Miguel 106 – Balkman 35, Standhardinger 18, Cabagnot 13, Santos 13, Lassiter 12, Fajardo 9, Ross 6, Ganuelas-Rosser 0, Lanete 0, Heruela 0.

Phoenix 94 – Phelps 33, Wright 17, Jazul 10, Chua 8, Perkins 8, Wilson 6, Chan 4, Kramer 6, Mendoza 2, Intal 0, Revilla 0.

Quarterscores: 17-18, 37-49, 72-70, 106-94.


2018 Commissioner’s Cup Team Standings

The 2018 Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Commissioner's Cup, also known as the 2018 Honda–PBA Commissioner's Cup for sponsorship reasons, will be the second conference...

San Miguel acquires Kelly Nabong from GlobalPort for Gabby Espinas, future draft pick

The San Miguel Beermen have added another key piece to their already vaunted front court rotation by acquiring volatile big man Kelly Nabong from...

WATCH: Brgy. Ginebra vs Columbian Game Highlights [June 20, 2018]

After a brief battle in the early minutes, Barangay Ginebra hammered Columbian Dyip hard en route to a 134-107 victory that pushed the Gin...

Arwind Santos, Anthony Semerad, Don Trollano slapped with P20K fine each for incurring FFP2

San Miguel's Arwind Santos and the TNT duo of Anthony Semerad and Don Trollano were each slapped with a P20,000 fine by the PBA...

PBA releases partial 2018 Commissioner’s Cup elims schedule

The PBA has released through its social media accounts a partial schedule of the upcoming 2018 Commissioner's Cup signed by no less than league...

LOOK: Paolo Taha pens heartfelt gratitude to Brgy. Ginebra officials, coaches, teammates and fans

A day after being dealt to the GlobalPort Batang Pier for rookie Julian Sargent, Paolo Taha took to Instagram to express his heartfelt gratitude...