San Miguel improves to 4-0 with easy 109-80 win over Mahindra

PBA Media Bureau

June Mar Fajardo went scoreless for the first time in four years but San Miguel Beer hardly needed him against an overmatched Mahindra side Wednesday night.

The Beermen steamrolled the Floodbuster, 109-80, to remain unbeaten in the 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup at Cuneta Astrodome.

“Prior to this game, we looked at Mahindra’s close losses to TNT, Alaska and Rain or Shine and it was clear that we cannot take this team for granted,” said SMB head coach Leo Austria. “In the past, we were always beaten by Mahindra and I was surprised the players played their game and they also enjoyed the game without losing their focus.”

“We needed to rest June Mar because of wear and tear and we had the opportunity to rest him tonight. He also wasn’t feeling well earlier and we opted to rest him. A lot of players stepped up.” –

The scores:

San Miguel – Cabagnot 26, Rhodes 20, Lassiter 18, Espinas 12, McCarthy 7, Reyes 6, Tubid 6, Santos 4, Van Opstal 4, Ross 2, Heruela 2, Agovida 2, Fajardo 0, Semerad 0, De Ocampo 0.

Mahindra – Wright 16, Celda 13, David 13, Corpuz 10, Revilla 7, Yee 7, Deutchman 6, Salva 4, Guevarra 2, Caperal 2, Paniamogan 0, Elorde 0, Galanza 0, Teng 0, Ballesteros 0.

Quarterscores: 32-16, 55-31, 86-59, 109-80.