Thompson, Fajardo and Barroca finish 1-2-3 in 1st PBA All-Star voting returns

ByAllan Lim

PBA Media Bureau

Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel’s do-it-all guard Scottie Thompson emerged as the top vote getter in the first initial tally for the 2018 PBA All Star game.

The 6-foot-1 native of Padada, Davao del Sur amassed a total of 17,851 votes, followed by four-time league MVP June Mar Fajardo who got 17,498.

Magnolia guard Mark Barroca ended up in 3rd spot with 17,377 votes while former teammate and now Rain or Shine sniper James Yap came in 4th with 17,006. NLEX rookie Kiefer Ravena rounded up the top 5 with 14,550 votes.

Hotshots duo Jio Jalalon and PJ Simon came in 6th and 7th with 14,368 and 13,596 votes respectively. Blackwater’s Mac Belo finished in 8th spot (12,192), while Brgy. Ginebra twin towers Japeth Aguilar (11,692) and Greg Slaughter (11,665) rounded up the top 10.

Here are the top 10 players per All-Star team after the first round of voting:

Luzon All-Stars

Japeth Aguilar – 11,692
Calvin Abueva – 10,083
Marc Pingris – 8,553
LA Tenorio – 7,051
Paul Lee – 6,880
Jayson Castro – 6,566
Mark Caguioa – 5,550
Alex Cabagnot – 5,129
Marcio Lassiter – 5,093
Arwind Santos – 4,972

Visayas All-Stars

June Mar Fajardo – 17,498
James Yap – 17,006
Kiefer Ravena – 14,550
Greg Slaughter – 11,665
Terrence Romeo – 11,052
Joe Devance – 8,341
Roger Pogoy – 7,467
Jeff Chan – 7,386
Chris Ross – 6,413
Aldrech Ramos – 4,352

Mindanao All-Stars

Scottie Thompson – 17,851
Mark Barroca – 17,377
Jio Jalalon – 14,368
Peter June Simon – 13,596
Mac Belo – 12,192
JP Erram – 8,342
Baser Amer – 7,526
Rafi Reavis – 7,331
Cyrus Baguio – 7,269
Sonny Thoss – 6,395

There will be another round of voting during the elimination round of the 2018 Commissioner’s Cup.

The top 5 players in each of the 3 regions will earn starting positions for their respective squads. Each team will take on Gilas Pilipinas during the week-long spectacle.

Iloilo, Batangas, and Digos City will host the games which will be held on May 23-27, 2018.


PBA releases partial 2018 Commissioner’s Cup elims schedule

The PBA has released through its social media accounts a partial schedule of the upcoming 2018 Commissioner's Cup signed by no less than league...

WATCH: Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel’s limited edition jersey collection!

Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel veteran Mark Caguioa posted on his Instagram account a sneak peek into Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel's limited edition jersey collection...

Brgy. Ginebra replaces Shane Edwards with big man Charles Garcia

Brgy. Ginebra San Miguel has released stand-in import Shane Edwards just days before the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup formally kicks off. Taking the place of...

PBA adjusts Commissioner’s Cup schedule for Gilas Pilipinas

The PBA Board of Governors have approved a request by Gilas Pilipinas coach Chot Reyes and coursed through Commissioner Willie Marcial for a nine-day...

2018 Commissioner’s Cup Team Standings

The 2018 Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Commissioner's Cup, also known as the 2018 Honda–PBA Commissioner's Cup for sponsorship reasons, will be the second conference...