WATCH: 2017 PBA Governors’ Cup Awarding Ceremony


Barangay Ginebra San Miguel dominated Game 7 of the PBA Governors Cup Finals to finish off the Meralco Bolts, 101-96, on Friday night, en route to nailing their first back-to-back championship of the season-ending conference and their 10th title overall.

In a complete reversal of roles from Game 6, the Gin Kings this time were the ones who led from start to finish and the ones who piled a huge 20-point lead in the first half before coasting to victory in a historic game watched by a record-breaking 54,086 fans at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan.

LA Tenorio was named Finals MVP as he led Ginebra with 26 points, including 5 of 8 from rainbow country, along with four assists, a steal and a rebound in over 41 minutes of action.

Justin Brownlee was also just as explosive, finishing with 23 points, including 3 of 4 from three-point range, on top of eight caroms, five dimes, three blocks, and in over 45 minutes.

Scottie Thompson also played his A-game, tallying 14 points, including two 3-pointers, along with 9 rebounds, five steals, and two assists in nearly 37 minutes.

Greg Slaughter came off the bench to deliver 12 points, five boards, two assists, and two blocks in winning his first championship title.

Joe Devance and Japeth Aguilar added 10 points apiece, with the two combining for 10 rebounds and 9 assists. Aguilar also had three blocks.

It was the 20th championship won by Ginebra coach Tim Cone, further bolstering his reputation as the league’s most successful coach.