Beermen hold off KaTropa in Game 4 to equalize Finals series

San Miguel survived a huge 4th quarter fightback from TNT to win Game 4 of the 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup best-of-seven Finals series, 106-101, Sunday night at the jampacked Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Chris McCullough, Alex Cabagnot and June Mar Fajardo each scored 22 points or more to power to Beermen past the KaTropa who earlier celebrated the coronation of Terrence Jones as Best Import and Jayson Castro as Best Player of the conference.

Game 5 is scheduled on Wednesday, August 14 also at the Big Dome with the series now tied at 2 games apiece.

“This game is really important for us. We don’t want to be at 1-3 and it’s really hard to recover. I salute all the players. Hindi ko na iisa-isahin. They are really focused in this game,” said San Miguel coach Leo Austria during the post-game presser.

McCullough, who finished 3rd in the Best Import derby, paced the 2017 Commissioner’s Cup titlists with 27 points and 22 boards while Cabagnot and Fajardo came through with 25 and 22 points, respectively. Von Pessumal chipped in 14 markers highlighted by 4-of-7 shooting from 3-point country.

Jones had 32 points, 16 rebounds, 6 assists, 6 steals and 2 blocks in a no-relief job for the KaTropa while Troy Rosario contributed 24 markers. Castro added 17 points while Don Trollano scored 16.

The scores:

San Miguel 106 – McCullough 27, Cabagnot 25, Fajardo 22, Pessumal 14, Ross 7, Standhardinger 5, Romeo 4, Santos 2.

TNT 101 – Jones 32, Rosario 24, Castro 17, Trollano 16, Pogoy 9, Heruela 3, Casino 0, Magat 0, Carey 0.

Quarterscores: 31-22, 51-52, 82-69, 106-101.

Back to top button