Pasig Mayor Vico Sotto gives go-signal for PBA play at Ynares Arena

Although without formal announcement yet, Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto gave hints of approving once again games of Philippine Basketball Association within the city.

“Hinihingi ko po ang inyong kooperasyon: Bawal po muna ang contact sports (maliban kung may special permit, katulad ng PBA),” stated Mayor Sotto on his Facebook page.

The PBA will kick-off its first-ever 3×3 games in Ynares Sports Arena on November 20.

“Tuloy na tuloy na ang 3×3. Wala pang official letter from the Mayor’s Office, but Mayor Vico has already expressed his approval on Facebook,” said PBA commissioner Willie Marcial.

In the tournament, 13 teams – 10 regular teams and three non-affiliates – will clash in a six-leg, three-conference calendar with three grand finals. Leg winners will receive P100,000 and grand finals winners will take home P750,000.

Ynares Sports Arena already hosted multiple games of PBA in the last conference before departing for its new shelter in Don Honorio Ventura State University in Bacolor, Pampanga as government adjusted to tightest enhance community quarantine the classification for National Capital Region due to concerns imposed by COVID-19 Delta variant.

However, there is no definite schedule yet for the start of PBA Governors’ Cup as lineup of imports are still pending in terms of papers and quarantine protocols.

“Because of the pandemic, may kahirapan ang proseso ng papers and there’s the quarantine protocol that the imports have to go through. Then, they have to practice first with their teams,” Marcial said.

“It’s a reinforced conference so dapat kumpleto ang imports. We’re a bit lenient on deadlines regarding the imports because of the situation we’re in right now,” he added.

Teams have already finalized names of reinforcements that they will be parading for the upcoming conference.

Making a return for another PBA stint are resident import Justin Brownlee for Ginebra, former champ Paul Harris for Phoenix Super LPG, former Best Import Mike Harris for Magnolia, Olu Ashaolu for Alaska, Henry Walker for Rain or Shine, KJ McDaniels for NLEX, and Brendan Brown for San Miguel Beer.

Remaining teams will parade new faces – Shabazz Muhammad for Meralco, Mckenzie Moore for TNT, Cameron Forte for Northport, Antonio Hester for Terrafirma, and Jaylen Bond for Blackwater.

Get involved!

Get Connected!
Come and join our community. Expand your network and get to know new people!


No comments yet
Back to top button