PBA admits Rome dela Rosa triple should’ve been waived off, eyes rule change to address issue

The PBA is considering making an adjustment to an existing league rule which bars game officials from reviewing if an attempt is made within the time allowed, if the game is still beyond the two-minute mark. This after the Game 7 controversy which involved Magnolia wingman Rome dela Rosa.

Replays of the incident clearly showed that the ball was still in Dela Rosa’s hand when the time expired.

The shot went in and gave the Hotshots a three-point lead, 53-50, with time down to a little over three minutes in the payoff period.

League commissioner Willie Marcial admitted that the shot should’ve been waived off by the referees.

“Regarding sa shoot ni Dela Rosa, sa akin yon, nakita namin not counted,” he said.

“Yung mga referees kasi nakatingin sa play and dapat uma-assist yung table officials. Pero yung table officials nag-dalawang isip kung counted o hindi. Pero kahit itaas o hindi itaas ng table yun, referees decision pa rin. Final ang referees kung counted o hindi. Judgement yun,” Marcial added.

The Hotshots went on to win the game in overtime, 63-60, and the series as well to advance to the championship round against defending champion San Miguel.

In light of the controversy, however, Marcial said that his office of thinking of ways to prevent a repeat of the same incident which may or may not necessitate a rule change.

Loading...
Via
Victor Adea
Tags

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

LEAVE A REPLY

Back to top button
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker