Phoenix outlasts TNT, picks up second straight overtime win

Phoenix Pulse survived another overtime battle with a 93-84 decision over TNT KaTropa and seized the early solo lead in the 2019 PBA Philippine Sports Center here Saturday night.

Matthew Wright, Alex Mallari, Calvin Abueva and Jason Perkins all had yeoman’s job as the Fuel Masters came through with a follow-up to their 93-92 OT nail-biter Wednesday over at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Phoenix, thus, became the first team in four years to start a season with back-to-back victories in OT matches while sending TNT to a first 0-2 start in 25 conferences.

“Two overtimes in two games, nakakapagod,” said Phoenix coach Louie Alas, flashing a toothy smile.

He couldn’t hide his happiness in their strongest start in a tourney.

Wright fired a team-high 23 points, Abueva (14 points and 12 rebounds) and Perkins (11 markers and 15 boards) delivered double-double numbers while Mallari contributed 15 markers as Phoenix outfought TNT in a slambang battle marred by Mike Miranda’s punching foul on Justin Chua at endgame.

The scores:

Phoenix 93 – Wright 23, Mallari 15, Abueva 14, Perkins 11, Chua 7, Revilla 7, Intal 7, Kramer 2, Guevarra 2, Napoles 2, Dennison 2, Marcelo 1, Jazul 0, Gamboa 0, Mendoza 0.

TNT 84 – Pogoy 30, Castro 18, Miranda 11, Semerad 9, Heruela 8, Reyes 4, Williams 2, Taha 2, Carey 0, Trollano 0.

Quarterscores: 11-16, 25-26, 56-54, 79-79, 93-84.




Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker