WATCH: 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup

The stage is all set for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 in China, with the rosters of all 32 national teams confirmed on the eve of the 18th edition of the showpiece event.

The flagship event returns to Asia for the first time since 2006, with eight host cities across China – Beijing, Shanghai, Nanjing, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Foshan and Dongguan – ready for basketball action to tip off on August 31.

Having won the 2010 and 2014 editions of the FIBA Basketball World Cups, defending champions USA stand to become the first country to win the Naismith Trophy in three consecutive events.

The tournament in China will be the largest one to date, with the new 32-nation format vastly expanding the geography of the competition. In total, 80 national teams took part in the Qualifiers for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019.

The basketball action on the court will begin with the opening fixture between Angola and Serbia in Foshan on August 31 and will finish with the champions crowned in Beijing on September 15.

While all teams will have their sights set on the new-look Naismith Trophy, there will be another significant source of motivation with seven Olympic berths up for grabs. The top two teams from Americas and Europe, as well as one top-ranked team each from Africa, Asia and Oceania will qualify for Tokyo 2020.




Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker