Heat eliminate Bulls, arrange 1st round clash with Celtics

The Miami Heat put on a dominant display as they dismantled the Chicago Bulls 112-91 in Friday’s play-in tournament, securing the final playoff spot in the Eastern Conference.

Tyler Herro delivered an impressive performance, coming just one assist shy of a triple-double with 24 points, 10 rebounds, and nine assists. His contribution was instrumental in setting up a highly-anticipated Eastern Conference finals rematch with the top-seeded Boston Celtics.

This upcoming playoff series will mark the fourth time in the last five seasons that these two teams will meet in the postseason, with the Heat emerging victorious in two of their previous encounters.

Unfortunately for Miami, Jimmy Butler was sidelined for Friday’s game due to an MCL sprain he suffered in the previous matchup against the Philadelphia 76ers. The absence of the six-time All-Star is expected to last for several weeks, posing a challenge for the Heat as they gear up for the playoffs.

Despite Butler’s absence, Miami displayed resilience and determination in securing their playoff berth. Head coach Erik Spoelstra emphasized the importance of hard work and collective effort in earning success, highlighting the team’s unity and perseverance throughout the game.

DeMar DeRozan led the Bulls with 22 points, four assists, and three rebounds, but it wasn’t enough to overcome Miami’s strong performance.

This victory marks the second consecutive year that the Heat have knocked out the Bulls in the play-in tournament, showcasing their consistency and competitive spirit in crucial matchups.

Miami’s early lead and strong defensive presence proved to be decisive in securing the win, as they maintained control of the game and limited Chicago’s opportunities to mount a comeback.

With Game 1 against the Boston Celtics scheduled for Sunday, the Heat will look to carry their momentum forward and continue their quest for playoff success. The stage is set for an exciting showdown between two formidable teams in the Eastern Conference.

Back to top button